Tags

, , , ,

Image

(photos by Martin McKelvy)

The Virgo birthday season kicks off this week with two of my favorites. Sadly, both Paul and Austin are gone from this world. Perhaps last night was not the most opportune time to watch the French film Amour. It’s been a sobering twenty-four hours.

Both of these lovely men enriched my life and taught me so much about living in the short time they were on this planet and I am grateful for having known them. It’s funny how even when they are no longer here physically, they continue to shape my life. I feel their presence around me in the same way Silky still stays close. I suppose when you keep the memory of the departed vibrant, you actually keep a small part of them alive.

Austin’s ashes were divided among his friends and my parcel resides on my home altar. Paul has a magnificent bench in the Buddha Garden at Hollywood Forever Cemetery and Sylvia’s marker, though far from the memorial she built for Douglas Fairbanks, is also at Hollywood Forever beside her sister Vera Bleck and her nephew Timothy Bleck.

All three of my departed friends enthusiastically enjoyed libations. After the last twenty-four sobering hours, I think it’s time to pour a cocktail and toast to absent friends.

Image

Paul Grillo (August 26th, 1963 – January 23rd, 2012)

Image

Austin Eason (August 28th, 1962  – March 12th, 1994)